Skip to content
June 16, 2009 / Mike Su

3 down, 2 to go in Quarantine!

I’m over the hump! More days behind than I have ahead!

So life here is pretty mundane. There are two beds in my room. When I wake up, I roll out of bed, and into the other, which is affectionately known as my “office”. I log in, browse some headlines, catch up on twitter, and all the tweets from my fellow Geeks on a Plane to see the fun that I’m missing out on. I walk three feet over to the bathroom. One day I decided to brush my teeth after I went and picked up breakfast, thinking I’d be wearing a mask and nobody would know the difference. Well, turns out one person that definitely noticed was me. With that mask on, all I breath is my own recycled air. And actually, one thing I have learned is that it’s important to keep up with things. For the first few days, I just rolled out of bed, wandered around, always wore my PJs around the place (who cares anyway? it’s not like I’m trying to impress anybody, I’m only downstairs for a few minutes at a time etc.). Well, the past day or so I decided to actually get changed, and today I put in my contacts, and suddenly there was a little more normalcy to everything. So, for any of you fellow quarantiners out there reading this, don’t let The Man get to you. He WANTS you to mope around like a sloth. He WANTS you to stop shaving. Don’t do it, don’t let him break your spirit!!!!

I wont let you hold me down!

I won't let you hold me down!

Ah hem. Right. So anyway, the other thing that kinda sucks here is that there is no AC. The idea is that if anyone DOES have swine flu, it’s probably not good to be pumping that air through the entire building. So as far as choices go, yeah, I’d rather be hot than to have swine flu. I’d also rather have toothpicks jabbed in my eye than to have an elephant kick me between the legs (or would I? that’s a tough one). Anyway, so I spend most of the days with my drapes drawn to keep the temperature down, which makes for a pretty depressing vibe in the room:

Now I'm going to watch Schindler's List and then slit my wrists and take a warm bath

Now I'm going to watch Schindler's List and then take a warm bath and slit my wrists

I’ve also started to spend a little more time out and about. I watch the fish swimming in the pond:

This reminds me, I need to clean my son's fishtank when I get home

This reminds me, I need to clean my son's fishtank when I get home

It’s been good though…I guess they always say, in prison you have nothing but time for you and your thoughts. And I’ve been able to spend a lot of time thinking about stuff, which I may or may not blog about in more detail.

This morning we had some thunderstorms, which have done a great job of cooling down the summer heat. There’s also something very soothing about the rain.

Ha! All of you free people who were planning on visiting the Great Wall today can suck it!

Ha! All of you free people who were planning on visiting the Great Wall today can suck it!

Finally, I find it strangely amusing to see new people arrive at Hotel Quarantine. It’s always that same look, that “How could I be *this* unlucky” look.

Welcome to Hotel Quarantine!  May I take your bags?

Welcome to Hotel Quarantine! May I take your bags?

I think I’m gonna order some pizza tonight to switch it up. Last dinner in the big house. Woo!!

Sorry, I would blog about more exciting things if there were more exciting things happening, but, you know, I spend 22 hours a day in a 200 sq ft room, not a lot happens.

Oh, last thing, a few of you have mentioned you have family members here. Tell them to feel free to knock on 1420 and say hello or if they want to borrow some DVDs. If you want me to write a message for them and stick it on the bulletin board, feel free to leave a comment as well. Just can’t deliver any hugs or kisses on your behalf…we’re in quarantine, afterall.

Want to stay up to date? Add this blog to your iGoogle homepage:
Add to Google

Catching up? Here are the first few posts:
Welcome to The Hotel Quarantine
Life in the Big House
7 People You’ll Meet in Hotel Quarantine

6 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. daughterofbob / Jun 16 2009 10:16 am

    Oh man, I can sort of relate. I had to be in isolation for 12 days last month, but in the hospital, after my radiation treatment for cancer. I wasn’t safe to be in the public until my radiation levels went down to a safe-for-humanity level.
    And I totally had that Edward Norton in 25th Hour feeling before I went in there…goodbye freedom, goodbye great city, goodbye future that was so close to never happening.
    I just ended up watching the most television I’ve ever watched in my life.
    Anyways, good to read that you’re in good spirits and retaining some humor. Hey, it could be worse. I mean what if it was a zombie infection instead? You’d probably get eaten by your next door neighbor.
    When I was in isolation, I killed some time (oh, maybe 15 minutes) plotting what I’d do in case of a sudden zombie invasion in the hospital. Those places are hot spots.
    Hang in there, you’re almost out!

    • aproductguy / Jun 16 2009 12:23 pm

      whoa…hope you’re better! my isolation is far more trivial. as i’ve been telling others, i’m more apt to die of boredom or heat than swine flu here. have not considered an alternate plan in the event that the hotel is overrun by zombies, but will have to give that some consideration. i might have to escape in the murky pond in the courtyard and swim out via water duct. that’s just off the top of my head, but will likely require some more detailed analysis to be performed later tonight. thanks for the heads up.

  2. fawada / Jun 16 2009 8:47 pm
  3. russell / Jun 17 2009 6:37 am

    mike, thanks for blogging about your time in the Q. my family is there, and as it turns out, they’re on the same floor as you. your insights and photos have helped me in calif. get more perspective on what they’re going through. glad you’re getting out soon. they get out tomorrow.

Trackbacks

  1. Welcome to the Hotel Quarantine « A Product Guy
  2. Quarantine 2.0 « A Product Guy

Leave a Reply

