Skip to content
June 18, 2009 / Mike Su

At the Airport


Ahh…the sweet, sweet fragrance of freedom (or is that the Beijing smog?). I’m at the airport now, and it appears that my saga is coming to a happy ending. Last night I went out and celebrated my new-found freedom with some new-found friends here in Beijing from my initial (but brief) stay in here Beijing. This morning, as I walked through the breakfast buffet at the Westin, I couldn’t help but smile to myself as I picked up food. They were playing that song “Delilah” (I think that’s what it’s called), didn’t really pay attention to the lyrics, but the song, combined with my mood, made it all feel like I was at the end of a movie, and the credits were just about to roll. But as I enjoyed my five star hotel breakfast, I couldn’t help but think of some of the staff at Hotel Quarantine, and how they are still going to be there for at least another month. They themselves don’t even really know when they’re done. And that kinda sucks. If you at least have an end, there is hope, but their stay is indefinite until further notice. And while the Westin staff is unbelievable, I have to say that the staff at the Yanxiang Hotel were also superb, and made a crappy situation much more tolerable. Amazing in light of their own circumstances. So, if you or someone else you know is headed to Hotel Quarantine, remember to be extra nice to the awesome staff there, and give them a little extra room too.

Finally, I can’t help but think that this could have all been avoided if they just scanned us before we got on the plane instead of after. If they found someone with a temperature, just send em home. That way they don’t have to be quarantined halfway across the world, and none of us would need to ever be quarantined. Seems like that would save everyone involved a ton of time and money. But nobody’s asked for my advice, and the cab driver on the way over didn’t seem to care too much about what I was saying either.

Well, I will continue to post on this blog, but it will likely go back to what I originally intended it to be about – Web x.0, product management, and other random musings that come into my head. It’s been fun people (no it hasn’t), but time for this geek to get on a plane and get back home!

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Shantwo / Jun 18 2009 3:42 am

    Exactly.

    “Finally, I canโ€™t help but think that this could have all been avoided if they just scanned us before we got on the plane instead of after. If they found someone with a temperature, just send em home.”

    I mean, how hard is that, huh? Who wants to be locked in an airplane cabin for over 12 hours with infectious passengers? Doesn’t really matter if it’s H1N1 they have, or somthing else, thank you, I don’t want it.

  2. Michelle / Jun 18 2009 5:38 am

    Thank you so much for your blog. My whole family (15 of them) were quarantined, half of them at the same time, same place as you. Thanks to you, I even got to see some of them in the photos you took around the grounds (kids fishing and tai chi) You had the roots family description down pat!! Had me cracking up! I’m glad you got your walking papers already. Hopefully my whole family will be released soon so they can come home too!! Congrats and thanks again!

    BTW, My family and I were just talking about your same suggestion…screen before not after the flight!! Duh!! Could have avoided all this craziness!

    • aproductguy / Jun 21 2009 8:06 am

      Thanks for reading my inane posts from the edge, and glad I was able to catch a few of your family members in the pix. Hope they make it out soon – those final few minutes as you’re checking out are so sweet ๐Ÿ˜€

  3. Matt / Jun 20 2009 10:24 pm

    I enjoyed your blog posts, thanks for sharing them and also for doing so on WordPress.com. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • aproductguy / Jun 21 2009 8:07 am

      Matt – thanks for stopping by! It’s funny, one of the few magazines I had to read in quarantine was the latest issue of Inc and was reading your article…had to get around a few hurdles to post from China, but am a big fan of wordpress so… ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

